The Rules of Gentility by Janet Mullany

I had a really tense and stressful week and yesterday night I was so tired I was feeling drunk regardless of the fact that I came home straight from work (without having a drink first). Not a pleasant sensation. So I tucked myself under the duvet and grabbed a book that had been on my bookshelf for a while (not mine exactly but the one I have in my mum’s place) The Rules of Gentility by Janet Mullany.

The Rules of Gentility by Jane Mullany

I wouldn’t say the book is unputdownable but I was so exhausted that I couldn’t fall asleep and I ended up staying up reading until morning, it was good company and I am not even that into regency  romance. It starts with a very catchy opening:

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman of fortune and passable good looks amuses herself in London with fashion, philanthropic works, and flirtation, until a suitable gentleman makes an offer. I consider the pursuit of the bonnets and a husband fairly alike–I do not want to acquire an item that will wear out, or bore me after a brief acquaintance, and we must suit each other very well. And although I have several gentlemen who have expressed an interest, I find all of them lack a certain something; and of course, with a gentleman you cannot replace the trim from another to make the perfect object, as tempting a thought as that might be, although indeed it would be an interesting experiment.

Regency heiress Philomena Wellesley-Clegg is looking for a suitable husband when she stumbles upon Inigo Linsley, her best friend’s rascally brother-in-law, non exactly husband material. When Inigo proposes a sham engagement to ward off her unwelcome  suitors, she agrees—but only until the end of the social season. You can guess how it ends.

It’s not exactly Perfect Chemistry but the novel  alternates between two narrators: Inigo and Philomena. I didn’t find it convincing when it was from Inigo’s prospective so I do realize how difficult it is to organize a double narration  for the writer. I found it delightful and entertaining, it’s not original but surely enjoyable.

I can resist anything but good flirting on paper and The Rules of Gentility contains some really satisfying bantering.

My grade: 3/5

Em

5 responses to “The Rules of Gentility by Janet Mullany

  1. Worth picking up and reading, I think. Sometimes, you don’t really need original to enjoy it. (Other times it’s so overdone you find yourself bashing your head against a wall and skipping pages to get to the interesting parts).

  2. Emily and Her Little Pink Notes

    agree, most of the time I don’t really need an original plot but if I find myself skipping too many pages it’s not worth it. I found “The Rules of Gentility” well written and entertaining.

  3. 9999 The small-scale details, like as fabric bows or embroidery make it easy for them to present a specific evaluate of panache with the most standard virtually every outfit. We were being like “ok, you’re able to marry Harry!” Would probably she one day be Prince Harry’sthen? “Nah! No!”.
    ugg boots australia outlet store http://www.brennanpursell.com/ugg-boots-outlet-store-c-6.html

  4. 9999 The succeed you’ve got executed has gotten you this considerably. These station reproduction handbags are often times the clone to the reliable delightful channel totes.
    louis vuitton replica sunglasses http://www.photosbykerrie.com/louis-vuitton-replica-sunglasses-c-3.html

  5. 9999 The give good results you’ve got achieved has gotten you this significantly. These station reproduction handbags are frequently the clone for the reliable beautiful channel totes.
    replica louis vuitton bags http://www.epilationservices.co.uk/replica-louis-vuitton-bags-c-4.html

Leave a comment