A brief Summary

I can’t believe that my last post here was written more than one year ago!

For those of you who are interested here it’s a brief summary of my 2011:

* in february I moved back to Milan and for a while we had been renting a VERY little place in Milan;

* in may I had a baby, her name is Carola and she is almost six month old, here it’s a picture of us on vacation:

I had a natural childbirth because by the time I arrived to the hospital it was too late for an epidural, it was better & faster than expected…would I do it again? Next time I’ll make sure to be on time for my epidural 🙂

* I read a TON of books about babies (The baby whisperer by Tracy Hogg, a book by William and Marta Sears, Your Baby and Child by Penelope Leach and many others) , currently I am exclusively breastfeeding but weaning will be staring soon.  I am lucky because my little Caro is a very sweet baby who sleeps  through the night and sometimes takes a long nap in the early afternoon;

* during the summer we moved again (this time it’s our place, no more renting!) and we are currently decorating, we bought paint & stencils on-line, it’s hard work but great fun:

Right now I am on maternity leave but I don’t really have too much time for reading and reviewing,  here are a few books that I recently read:

Jane by April Lindner, Angie was right, I really enjoyed this retelling of Jane Eyre, although I am not crazy about the original one

You don’t have to say you love me by Sarra Manning, surprisingly I did not love this one, Neve and Max sort of got on my nerves but I must admit that I still haven’t come across a book by Sarra Manning that isn’t utterly compelling and somehow juicy

Pug Hill by Alison Pace, not my kind of story… I was bored from the beginning to the end

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, I completely agree with a few reviews that I found on Goodreads: THIS BOOK IS LIKE CRACK

The Help by Kathryn Stockett, a keeper! Now I understand what all the fuss was about, I loved it

My one and only by Kristin Higgins, I regard myself as a very picky reader when it comes to contemporary romance… I love the concept but actual books often disappoint me, this was not the case with My one and only, it’s really really fun

Ciao

Em

13 responses to “A brief Summary

  1. Ari, we’ve missed you around here! Congrats, your baby is so cute. 🙂 Good to know that you’ve been reading some good books lately even if you haven’t had time to blog. Would love to have you back but it looks like life’s pretty busy for you right now.

    I’ve read Unsticky by Sarra Manning and I remember you’re a huge fan. I’ve also read YDHTSYLM and I really liked it as well so I’m sorry to hear that it didn’t work out for you. I’ve enjoyed reading Kristan Higgins as well but I haven’t picked up My One and Only. Hope to see more of you online! 😀

  2. Ari, you’re back! We’ve missed you so much. Sometimes I would just click on over to the site and look at it, hoping everything was well with you. I’m delighted to hear it is. And Caro is adorable! Well done you. Really.

    So happy to hear you loved JANE. I’ve reread it once since the first time and it held up wonderfully.

    Your stenciled walls look gorgeous.

    It’s really so good to see your font again. 🙂

  3. Wow! It’s nice to see an update from you! Sounds like a very busy year. Your baby is adorable, and I also love the stenciled wall.

    Now looking at the goodreads review of the bookcrack you speak of. 🙂

  4. ARI!!! It’s so good to hear from you! *squee* I was pretty excited to see your blog pop up in my reader this morning. I had to go to it right away and see what your update was. I’m sorry I’m just getting to commenting now but I had to wait until I could do it properly.

    AH! You had a baby? Awesome. She is beautiful. I read lots of baby books with my son and still refer to some now with my daughter.

    LOVE the paint and the stencils. 🙂 Your walls look very professional.

    I’m glad you liked Jane. I’ve got both The Help and My One and Only on the immediate TBR shelf so that’s good to hear your good opinions on them. I completely understand why there isn’t much time for reading or reviewing but send us more updates from time to time. I’m very happy to hear you are doing well.

  5. Thank u so much! I really miss blogging and I would love to start again now that I finally have a decent internet connection.
    I am glad that you are all well and that there are so many babies born in 2011 🙂 … “The blue sword” was recently translated in italian, it’s on top of my list for Carola, right now when it comes to books she really enjoys chewing them

  6. I’m a little late but EEEEE, it’s so nice to hear from you again! I was so excited when I saw your blog pop up in my dashboard 😀

    Wow, 2011 was a very busy year for you! But it looks like it’s been full of wonderful events. Carola is beautiful (those eyes!) and she looks like such a happy baby 🙂 Anyways, I hope you’ll come back to blogging but I understand if you can’t–life offline is always more important. Still, I hope you do come back, even if it’ll be an occasional post.

    happy reading (and living!)

  7. Hello! It’s so nice to see you back, even if just for an update. It’s good to know you’re still out in the world and doing well 🙂

    What a year you’ve had! Congrats on your adorable little girl and on your new place. I love that stenciling.

    I’m so glad you liked Jane! I LOVE the original and still really really liked Jane. That’s a rare thing in a retelling.

    Hopefully we’ll see you around again soon!

    • Can I just say that I think the cover is really cute? I read Persuasion way berfoe but I didn’t really love it as much as you obviously do because I can’t recall all of the details. I’m sorry that you didn’t end up liking this one but I’m glad that you reviewed it, I won’t be in any hurry to read it because of the things that you mentioned.

  8. Pingback: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire | Janicu's Book Blog

  9. Hi, haven’t seen you in a while but I hope you’re doing great! Your little one looks adorable; my best wishes to you and yours for 2012! 🙂

  10. I’ve been on a bit of a break as well, but I couldn’t help checking in again. I’m glad I did!

    Your baby is beautiful. Congratulations.

    As far as reading? Sometimes life gets in the way, but I can’t wait to see what you find time for.

  11. Oh my gosh you’re back!!!! I took a very extended blog leave as well to have a little babe 🙂 So, so happy to see that “Emilyandherlittlepinknotes” is back in actioN!!! Also, Carola is GORGEOUS. What a precious little girl.

  12. thanks Katie, hope everything is good, having a baby it’s hard work but so much fun

Leave a comment